Underage Consumption (Mesa) – Granted Diversion– 3/28/2017
Back to all DUI & Criminal Defense Case Results
This was the second time that my client had completed probation. In the end the prosecution still allowed her another chance to keep her record clean.
Zero ToleranceAccording to the Arizona Revised Statute 4-244(34), it is illegal for a person under twenty-one years of age to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while there is any “spirituous liquor” in the person's body.
The penalties for underage drinking are often stricter for those under 21 due to the high rate of minors driving under the influence.
Underage drinking penalties in Mesa, ArizonaClass 2 misdemeanor (underage consumption of alcohol)
- A citation will be issued
- Possible jail time with the prospect of serving up to four months
- Fines of up to $750
- Criminal record that will be visible to entities such as employers or colleges for admission.
- Diversion Program – If you are offered and agree to a diversion program you will have to attend classes on alcohol abuse and you may be ordered to pay certain court fees. After completion of the diversion program the criminal conviction will be dropped from your record.
- Possible jail time with the prospect of serving up to six months
- Fines up to $2500
- Revocation of driver’s license (up to 6 months)
To learn more contact DUI Lawyer, Aaron Black in Phoenix to set up a free consultation or call 480-729-1683.