Teenage Drinking & Driving in Phoenix, AZTeenage Motorists younger than 21 caught drinking and driving or in physical control of a motor vehicle in Phoenix face a severe criminal offense. Under ARS, 4-244(34) nicknamed “Baby DUI,” the state’s no tolerance legislation, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in Phoenix Arizona doesn’t need to be much, in fact hardly a trace over 0.00.
Whether the impairment was witnessed or not it doesn’t matter as a slight trace is sufficient for an arrest. A hint of drugs is also an offense. Comparatively, the limit for adults is 0.08 BAC.
1st Teen drunk driving penalties in Phoenix, AZ
- Requires a minimum of 24 hours to a maximum of 10 days in custody
- Fine of $1,600
- Suspension of the driving privilege from 90 to 360 days
A second conviction within seven years of the first means incarceration.
- Incarceration from 30 to 90 days
- $2,500 fine
- One year without a license
- A term of probation will be imposed, and the driver must attend a driver education course
Potentially related chargesIn addition to a DUI charge for underage drinking and driving, other penalties can be levied depending upon the circumstances.
These charges include:
- Possession of alcohol by a minor
- Distributing alcohol to underage passengers
- Child endangerment
- Having a false identification to purchase spirits or soliciting an adult to buy alcohol
- If the vehicle were stopped for a moving violation, a failed tail light or some other equipment, a violation also would be charged
A juvenile, between 14 and 17 years old, facing this situation may be charged as an adult in Arizona.
Possible Teenage drinking & driving defensesIf your child has been charged with underage drinking & driving it is imperative that you hire a DUI Defense Attorney immediately.
- There was no probable cause to arrest you
- You were not in actual physical control of the vehicle
- There was no reasonable suspicion to stop you
- The Police denied you the right to counsel
- Your Miranda Rights were violated
- The Police presented misleading reports
DUI Defense AttorneyIf your child or someone you know has been charged with teen drunk driving in Phoenix, AZ the fear and anguish of not knowing where to turn can make the whole situation even more frightening.
Choosing the best DUI Lawyer to represent you requires a great deal of work on your part and understandably so. After all their freedom is at risk and you need an experienced DUI defense lawyer.
- Research DUI Lawyers Online. Many reputable sites such as AVVO.com, NOLO.com, and SuperLawyers.com can offer insight into their experience and capabilities.
- Call several attorneys to check out their fees and get a feel for their willingness to help you minimize the penalties and costs involved in a DUI case
- Most lawyers offer a free initial consultation to go over the details of your case. Contact them for a consultation
- Hire an experienced Lawyer who has in-depth knowledge of the DUI laws in Phoenix
- Research whether or not the attorney is an active member of respected Criminal Defense Organizations such as NACDL and AACJ