Wrong-way driver in Tempe results in an Aggravated DUI

by Aaron Black • April 05, 2017
Wrong way driverA wrong-way driver endangered 11 other drivers before hitting a car on loop 202. The driver was treated for minor injuries and then booked for an aggravated DUI, criminal damage and multiple counts of endangerment.

An Aggravated (Felony) DUI in Arizona under ARS 28-1383 is classified as a felony and if you are found guilty there are “mandatory minimum” sentences. If this is a first felony conviction and he is not granted probation, he could serve 1 - 3.75 years in the Arizona Department of Corrections.

Aggravated Driving Under the Influence “Kid in Car” (Younger than 15) Class 6 Felony

  • Minimum Jail - 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
  • Maximum Jail - 2 years in prison **Higher if prior felony convictions**
  • Fines:
$250 Fee
$750 Fine
$630 Surcharge
$1500 Prison Fund 
$1500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee
  • 3 year license revocation
  • Probation up to 10 years if jail sentence
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Up to 10 years of probation
  • Monthly probation fees – usually $65/month
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 2 years Ignition Interlock
  • DNA taken
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • Possible Driving Under the Influence Court program
  • Felony on your record

Aggravated DUI Due to License Suspension or Third DUI in 84 Months Class 4 Felony

  • Minimum Jail - 4 months in prison
  • Maximum Jail - 3.75 years in prison **Higher if prior felony convictions**
  • Fines:
$250 Fee
$750 Fine
$630 Surcharge
$1500 Prison Fund 
$1500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee
  • 3 year license revocation
  • Probation up to 10 years if jail sentence
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Up to 10 years of probation
  • Monthly probation fees – usually $65/month
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 2 years Ignition Interlock
  • DNA taken
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • Possible Driving Under the Influence Court program
  • Felony on your record
If you are facing charges of an aggravated DUI it is imperative that you seek legal counsel. If you are found Guilty there are “mandatory minimum” sentences. For example, if convicted, you must serve a minimum 4 months in the Arizona Department of Corrections. If on the other hand you are granted probation, it can last up to 10 years.

To learn more about the consequences of an aggravated DUI contact the Law Office of Aaron Black or call 480-729-1683 for a free consultation today. Your freedom is at risk and I will see to it that your constitutional rights are protected.