What is ARS 28-1385, Admin Per Se Suspension?
At the traffic stop, the arresting officer was required to tell you if you didn’t allow to be tested for impairment your license would be suspended for a year, but if you submitted to a breath, blood, or urine test the license suspension would be only 90 days. So you took the test.
I advise my clients to respectfully decline testing because to prove its case the prosecution only needs to prove your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reached or surpassed 0.08 percent, or 0.04 BAC for those who drive commercial vehicles, or that the test showed you had been using drugs. A drug includes marijuana, cocaine, PCP, and certain prescription medications, and its presence is determined by the drug’s metabolite, which is the byproduct of the original drug.
If you’ve had a license suspension within the previous seven years you cannot get a restricted license and the 90 days are added to the year-long license suspension if you are convicted of DUI.
When your driver’s license is confiscatedThe arresting officer can confiscate your Arizona driver’s license. The officer will give you a pink and yellow administrative per se form carried in the patrol car to serve as your license for 15 days. For identification purposes, use a passport or other identification but don’t bother applying for an Arizona ID card.
If the officer did not give you the admin per se form it will come to you in the mail, so it’s crucial that the Arizona’s Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) has your current address.
Drivers whose licenses are issued by another state don’t surrender their licenses although their driving privilege in Arizona is suspended. However, the state that issued the license may suspend or revoke its license.
The license per se suspension and the DUI charge you are facing, though related, take different paths through Arizona’s legal system, comprised of administrative, civil, and criminal proceedings. The suspension of your license is an administrative act and cannot become evidence supporting the criminal DUI charge.
Exercising your right to an administrative hearingYou have only 15 days from the date of your arrest to ask the MVD for an administrative hearing before an administrative law judge. Failing to do so means the suspension takes force on the 16th day. Asking for a hearing allows you to continue driving beyond those 15 days while awaiting the hearing, which may not be held or decided for two or three months after requesting it. That at least buys you some time to continue driving.
The MVD mails you the suspension notice if your license was not confiscated at the arrest, allowing you 20 days to apply for a hearing.
An application for a hearing must be in writing and explain why the MVD should not suspend your privilege to drive.
At the hearing, the administrative law judge will hear evidence and testimony from you and the arresting officer and determine by the preponderance of the evidence if the arresting officer had a legal reason to stop you, place you under arrest, and if the results of the test were accurate and showed the illegal limit of 0.08 BAC or more.
Don’t attempt to represent yourself at the hearing. The best thing to do is have competent legal counsel who is experienced handling these administrative proceedings represent you, and I’ve counseled many clients through this procedure.
The result of this hearing is not admissible in your criminal court case because the law and the issues are not the same in those two venues. Criminal proceedings use the beyond a reasonable doubt level of proof, which is a higher standard than the level of proof in administrative law.
Winning the hearing doesn’t mean your license won’t be suspended if you’re convicted of DUI later in a criminal court.
Conditions for getting temporarily behind the wheelFor the first 30 days of the 90 day suspension you can’t drive at all. You must also finish alcohol screening. You’ll meet for an hour with a counselor who’ll determine how long you need to complete this legal requirement toward license reinstatement, 18, 32, or 54 hours of alcohol abuse classes.
There are several screening locations in the valley, including the Scottsdale Treatment Institute.
You may receive a restricted license after 30 days without driving. If MVD does not mail you the restricted license you’ll have to go to a MVD office to apply for it.
In getting a restricted license you’re required to have an ignition interlock device that prevents your vehicle from starting if the device detects alcohol on your breath. It is your responsibility to have the device installed in your vehicle at an authorized third party and pay for the installation and the monthly rental fee.
You’ll also need to provide proof of having the state’s minimum auto insurance coverage, called SR22. A DUI conviction can cause your insurance carrier to raise your rates or cancel your coverage.
The restricted license only allows you to drive to work, court, school, the alcohol abuses classes, your attorney’s office, or to your probation officer appointments. You don’t necessarily have to finish the hours of alcohol education classes, but if you are convicted of DUI the judge may require that you finish.
If your physical license was confiscated you can have it reinstated when the 90 day suspension ends but you’ll need to make a trip to the MVD to do it.
Get a complementary case assessmentFind out your legal options and protect your rights for free. I’m a DUI defense attorney with years of experience defending these cases so I can evaluate the circumstances of your license suspension and advise you of your options for both the suspension and the DUI charge.
The Law Office of Aaron Black provides free case assessments without an obligation. Contact DUI Lawyer, Aaron Black or call 480-729-1683 today for an appointment.
About the Author
Aaron Black is the founder and sole attorney of the Law Office of Aaron Black. Located in Phoenix, Arizona, his DUI and criminal defense law firm provides legal services to people who have received felony or misdemeanor charges from the state.Aaron has developed a strong interest in defending people who have been arrested and received criminal charges for driving under the influence. With his professionalism and knowledge of Arizona DUI and criminal law, he has acted as a check and balance on the police, prosecution and courts and has protected a great number of his clients from excessive and unfair sentencing.
Along with DUI defense, Aaron handles a range of other criminal matters, including aggravated assault, burglary, domestic violence, drug possession, drug trafficking, fraud defense, insurance fraud, sex crimes and white-collar crime.
After graduating college in 2003 from the University of Arizona, Aaron decided to pursue a law degree. He followed a family long tradition and went to the University of South Dakota School of Law where he pursued his goal of becoming a criminal defense lawyer.
After passing the Arizona and South Dakota bar exams, Aaron joined the Maricopa County Office of the Public Defender where he defended hundreds of people charged with serious criminal offenses. His work as a public defender helped him sharpen his litigation skills and gave him a unique insight into the Arizona criminal justice system.
Over the course of his 15-year legal career, Aaron has spent a considerable amount of time in both Arizona justice, municipal, state and federal courts. He has argued over 50 jury trials, tried over 100 bench trials and has become one of the highest-rated criminal and DUI defense attorneys in Phoenix and the surrounding areas. He has received a 10/10 rating from the legal directory Avvo because of his legal background and successful case record. Since 2014, he has received the Super Lawyer rating for his work as a Phoenix DUI and criminal defense attorney.
You can review Aaron’s Attorney Bio page for more information about his background, education and experience as a Phoenix DUI and criminal defense attorney.