Minors caught drinking and driving in Scottsdale can expect Zero Tolerance

by Aaron Black • August 23, 2016
Drinking under 21As with most states drinking under that age of 21 is against the law. In Scottsdale, Arizona if you are under the age of 21 and you have been arrested for drinking and driving, you can expect your license to be suspended in addition to possible jail time and fines. The license suspension is for 2 years regardless of the amount of alcohol in your system. As we all know the current blood alcohol content (BAC) for adults over 21 caught drinking and driving is .08% however, for minors it’s simply a zero tolerance situation as even the smallest amount of alcohol in your system.

If you are a minor please heed warning and never drink and drive or for that matter don’t ever get into a vehicle with someone who has been drinking.

If however you have been stopped and are suspected of drinking see below.
  • Immediately ask for a lawyer
     
  • Respectfully refuse all field sobriety tests. Contrary to popular belief, you have the right to refuse the field sobriety test (PBT) as it is only used by the police to obtain a probable cause to arrest you and it is not admissible in court. This does not cause a suspension.
     
  • If you are arrested and the police want blood or a breath sample at the station or DUI van always ask to speak with a lawyer first. Also, ask to speak with your parents if you are under 18.
     
  • If you refuse to give blood or breath pursuant to Admin per se/Implied consent your license will be suspended for 1 year. Arizona’s Implied Consent law states that if you are arrested lawfully by an officer who has grounds to believe that you have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, then you automatically consent to taking a breath, urine or blood test to determine your blood alcohol (BAC.)
If you are a minor and have been arrested for a DUI in Scottsdale, Arizona have your parents contact a DUI Attorney immediately. Not every attorney understands the complexities of DUI defense law so I encourage you to check their qualifications thoroughly before asking them to represent you.

To learn more click here to contact me or call 480-729-1683 for a free consultation.