I’ve been charged with a DUI in Phoenix, when will I get my license back?

by Aaron Black • April 11, 2016
If you have been charged with a DUI in Phoenix, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division will suspend your driver’s license right on the spot regardless of any criminal findings. The penalties will of course depend on what type of DUI you are convicted of.

In Arizona, you may be charged with DUI under the following conditions:
  • If the government can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving a vehicle or in actual physical control of a vehicle and impaired to the slightest degree you can be charged.
     
  • If the government can prove your Blood Alcohol Concentration was a .08% or more within two hours of driving you can be charged.
If this is your first DUI you are going to be without a license for a little while and you must drive on the yellow slip of paper. Your license will be will be suspended for 90 days and the suspension begins 15 days from the date of your arrest.

After 30 days of the suspension has passed you will be allowed to get a restricted permit that allows you to only drive to and from work/school for the remaining 60 days. At that time you can get your license back. 

After the complete 90 days are over you will be able to drive wherever you wish with no restrictions however, if you are subsequently convicted of DUI you will be driving with the ignition interlock.

An ignition interlock device is installed on your car to deter drinking and driving. Before the vehicle can be started you must deliver a breath sample into the device. If you refuse to provide a breath sample or the sample exceeds a set blood alcohol level the IID (Ignition Interlock Device) device will log the event, warn you that you must provide a breath sample or let you know that you’ve exceeded the set blood alcohol level and then an alarm will start until the ignition is either turned off or a clean breath sample is provided.

If you have been arrested for DUI, your license is just one of the many issues that you will face as Phoenix are some of the harshest in the country. Depending on your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and criminal history, jail time can range from 1 day to 6 months for misdemeanors and up to 15 years for a felony and there will be numerous fines.

Contact Phoenix DUI Lawyer Aaron Black for a free consultation at 480-729-1683 or click here to contact us.