I have been charged with a DUI in Phoenix, will I lose my Driver's License?

by Aaron Black • February 22, 2016
If you have been charged with a DUI in Phoenix the police officer probably gave you a yellow and pink form that says Admin Per Se/Implied Consent.  Arizona’s Implied Consent law states that if you arrested lawfully by an officer who has grounds to believe that you have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, then you automatically consent to taking a breath, urine or blood test to determine your blood alcohol (BAC.) This paper will temporarily act as your license.

Your license will be suspended for 90 days. If you do not act, the 90 day suspension will begin 15 days after you received it. For the first 30 days of the 90 day suspension you will not be allowed to drive at all. If you complete the MVD (Motor Vehicle Department) alcohol screening you will be allowed to drive only to and from work or school for the remaining 60 day suspension.

One of the first things you need to know is that a DUI (Driving Under the influence) charge and the License Suspension (MVD) in Phoenix are two different proceedings. A DUI charge is considered criminal and the MVD (Motor Vehicle Department) is deemed civil. What can also happen is the dismissal of your DUI however, the Motor Vehicle Department may still suspend your license.

So, what is going to happen to your license if you have been charged with DUI?

If you have been charged with a DUI, I strongly recommend legal representation regardless of who you choose. Motions can be filed by an attorney to request a hearing with MVD. By requesting a hearing your suspension will be put on hold which allows you to pick a planned time to start your suspension. Also, there could be an issue in your case which could possibly void your suspension entirely which is another reason that you should seek a Phoenix DUI Lawyer

Also, if you have previously been convicted of DUI there will be additional restrictions placed on your license and there may be an added suspension based on the type of DUI that you are convicted of.

If you are facing DUI charges in Phoenix, Arizona, or you have questions about the charges against you, contact Phoenix DUI Defense Attorney Aaron Black or call (480)729-1683 for a free consultation.