How do I get my car out of impound after an extreme DUI arrest?

by Aaron Black • June 24, 2016
Car being impoundedIf you were arrested for extreme DUI in Phoenix your car was more than likely impounded. Charges of Extreme DUI in Arizona result from driving under the influence with a blood alcohol content (BAC) above .15 but less than .20. The penalties vary for first-time or repeat offenders and these offenses carry mandatory prison terms in addition to your vehicle being impounded.

Under ARS 28-3511, there is a mandatory 30 day impound on your vehicle. You may however be able to get the vehicle out of impound if it is registered in someone else's name or you can show that your blood/breath was under a .15 BAC. Make sure to look at your tow sheet as you are entitled to a hearing.
 
Arizona DUI law states that the blood or bodily fluid must be taken within two hours of driving. If your blood of bodily fluid was taken outside of two hours the state must present testimony from its scientist as to what the BAC level was within two hours of driving and there are many factors that can be taken into consideration.

1st Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)

  • Minimum Jail - 30 days jail
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines:
$250 Fine
$210 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund 
$1000 Prison Fund 
$1000 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee
  • 90 day License Suspension
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock

2nd Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)

  • New DUI charge must be within 84 months of date of 1st DUI conviction.
  • Minimum Jail - 120 days jail, at least 60 days of which must be served consecutively, but must serve entire sentence.
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines
$500 Fine
$420 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund 
$1250 Prison Fund 
$1250 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$10 Probation Fee
  • 1 year license revocation (no driving at all)
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • 30+ hours community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock
As always it is important you have a lawyer who has experience defending Extreme DUI in Phoenix and other vehicular crimes. I aggressively defend vehicular cases and many of my extreme DUI defense cases result in dismissals, not guilty verdicts, no jail time, or substantially reduced charges.

If you have been convicted of an extreme DUI and are having problems getting your car out of impound, click here to contact me or call 480-729-1683 for a free consultation today!