Home detention can be an alternative to jail time for an Arizona DUI in most jurisdictions
Arizona law requires first time misdemeanor DUI (under .15 BAC) to serve a minimum of 10 days in jail however 9 days can be suspended. If however you are found guilty of an Extreme DUI, the minimum sentence is 30 days in jail. With that being said, in most Arizona jurisdictions that offer home detention if you have been sentenced to 30 days in jail you will only serve 6 days in jail and 24 days on home detention.
Home detention includes electronic monitoring of which you are required to pay for. The costs can range from $10 to $30 a day depending on the court. The electronic device can monitor for both alcohol consumption as well as track your location. You will be required to submit to 3 random alcohol tests per day.
During your time on home detention you will not be able to leave your house for a maximum of 12 hours a day, 6 days a week. Unlike serving jail time you will get to go home after a long day at work!
Additional punishment for 1st Time Misdemeanor Driving under the Influence (under .15 BAC)
- Minimum jail 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
- Maximum Jail – 6 months
$500 Prison Fund
$500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee
- 90 day License Suspension
- Possible Probation up to 5 years
- Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
- Possible community service
- Pay for jail incarceration
- Possible monthly probation fees
- Possible SR22 insurance
- 1 year Ignition interlock (6 months beginning January 1, 2012)
Click here to learn more about home detention in lieu of jail time for a DUI conviction or call 480-729-1683 for a free consultation.