Don’t let the NCAA March Madness lead to “Impaired to the slightest degree”
With increased patrols out looking for drivers under the influence, even being “impaired to the slightest degree” in Maricopa County can lead you to jail, numerous fines, license suspension and a 1 year ignition interlock being placed on your vehicle.
“Impaired to the slightest degree,” in simple terms, means that you are kind of tipsy. What few people know, is that when you are arrested for DUI in Phoenix, Arizona, you are always charged twice. First for being over the legal od a .08 BAC and the second charge falls under Arizona Revised Statute 28-1381(a)(1) for driving or being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicating substance and "impaired to the slightest degree."
With two DUI charges against you, the prosecutor has two chances of convicting you of basically the same thing. However, the punishemnt for both charges are exactly the same. You cannot get double punished.
If you are facing DUI charges it is essential to speak with a lawyer who is experienced in handling DUI defense law. Depending on your blood alcohol concentration and history, jail can range from 1 day to 6 months for misdemeanors and up to 15 years for a felony.
With all of the negatives associated with a DUI conviction, why not heed warning and enjoy the NCAA tournament with friends able to joke about the evenings events the next day all knowing that you safely traveled to and from the party.
If however, you end up facing DUI charges in Arizona, please click here to contact Aaron or call (480)729-1683 for a free legal consultation.