Can I get a DUI for consuming one or two drinks at dinner in Scottsdale Arizona?
For example, while on your way home from dinner you mistakenly make a wide turn and a police officer witnesses you doing so. He then proceeds to pull you over and when he approaches your window he notices the smell of alcohol on your breath. Of course his first question is going to be “Have you been drinking?” Because the officer has reason to suspect that you’ve been drinking the odds of you getting arrested for a DUI are very likely. Your first course of action should be to request a lawyer and invoke your right to remain silent.
With the harshest penalties in the country, Arizona laws for drinking and driving under the influence of .15 BAC can amount to jail time, fines, ignition interlock device (IID) and not to mention the overwhelming feeling of not knowing what the outcome will be. As always simple solution is to take a taxi, or of course designate a driver.
1st Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence (under .15 BAC)
- Minimum jail 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
- Maximum Jail – 6 months
$500 Prison Fund
$500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee
- 90 day License Suspension
- Possible Probation up to 5 years
- Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
- Possible community service
- Pay for jail incarceration
- Possible monthly probation fees
- Possible SR22 insurance
- 1 year Ignition interlock (6 months beginning January 1, 2012)
If you have questions or you are facing DUI charges in Scottsdale, please click here to contact Aaron or call (480)729-1683 for a free consultation.