Beware: Arizona Bans Texting While Driving
Arizona on April 22 became the 48th state to outlaw texting while driving after a decade-long effort to prevent distracted driving, which is as dangerous as driving intoxicated.
With this legislation Arizona also became the 18th state to ban using a handheld cellphones while behind the wheel.
"This legislation represents an issue whose time has come when Arizona says it's no longer okay to text or do anything else with your phone behind the wheel," said Gov. Doug Ducey when signing the legislature’s bill into law. In attendance was the mother of fallen Salt River police officer Clayton Townsend who was hit and killed by a driver that police say was texting at the time of the crash.
“This is a tremendous thing, but at what cost?” the governor said. “So many families have lost their lives and so many people have suffered at the hands of a negligent motorist. The idea here is to get your eyes on the road, hands on the wheel and your mind on the task at hand. The objective here is to not write tickets, it's to save lives."
The law became effective at the signing but penalties won’t be enforced until Jan. 1, 2021 to give motorists time to adapt to the change.
What you need to know about the Texting BanMotorists can still use their cellphones when driving to call for help or to report a crime or while stopped at a red light and while parked. Besides talking on the handheld phone it’s also illegal to write, send, and read text messages, emails, internet data and instant messages.
Restrictions also apply to a “stand-alone electronic device” that has stored audio or video. Watching television while driving is already illegal.
The law covers using any electrical handheld device and makes it unlawful to simply hold the device or to “support” it using your body, but what that means in the law isn’t specific.
Exceptions to using your Mobile Device
- It’s permissible to use headphones, earpieces, or a device that is worn on the wrist.
- Vehicles equipped with built-in technology are exempt if it’s possible to use them with only minimal movement such as pressing a button.
- A driver can pick up a text if it’s translated to voice or send a text if it’s done by voice command.
- A phone based GPS is allowed if it can be operated without using your hands. Dashboard cams and other devices that record are permitted and your vehicle’s built-in video screen, such as displaying a map, is perfectly legal.
- Commercial licensed drivers can still communicate with a dispatcher and citizen band radios remain legal.When you’re stopped by traffic officers
Also, if the officer sees in plain sight something illegal, such as the remains of a marijuana roll-up, you’re inviting trouble and you will far eclipse a traffic warning.
Penalties for Violating the new Texting StatuteThe first offense is punishable by a $75 minimum fine that could increase to $149. Additional violations start at $150 and tap out at $250. But the offenses don’t mean points on your driver’s license. The exception is if in violating the new law you caused someone to suffer a serious injury or death.
Should a texting driver seriously injure or kill somebody, criminal charges can result and civil lawsuits for damages can be filed.
Motor Vehicle Division TestingThe new law has a provision that requires the MVD to immediately start testing would-be motorists concerning the effects of using cell phones and similar devices.
The MVD is also allowed to suspend a commercial driver’s license if the driver violates the new law.
Distracted Driving BillThe governor on April 26 vetoed a separate, but related, bill aimed at distracted driving that would have allowed police to stop and cite a driver for doing something besides driving if the driver’s action or inaction creates an immediate hazard or the driver fails to use reasonable control of the vehicle.
That proposal was stricter than the new texting law in that it could be applied to many things unrelated to controlling the vehicle.
Governor Ducey received the distracted driving bill on the same day the texting bill became law.
Communities that were ahead of ArizonaCommunities with previous handheld phoning and texting ordinances can still be enforced, including provisions that are stricter than the new state law.
However, when the new law takes effect on Jan. 1, 2021 any provision in these communities that doesn’t reflect state law will vanish. These communities and their laws are:
- El Mirage – handheld-cellphone use while driving.
- Flagstaff – texting while driving
- Fountain Hills – texting while driving.
- Glendale – handheld-cellphone use while driving.
- Phoenix – texting while driving
- Surprise –handheld-cellphone use while driving
- Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community –texting while driving.
- Tempe – texting while driving
- Chino Valley Kingman
- Oro Valley
- San Luis
- Sedona Tucson
- Yuma along with the counties of Coconino, Pima, and Yavapai
Free Legal AdviceIf you have been arrested on criminal traffic violation or any other offense contact Pheonix Criminal Defense Attorney, Aaron Black or call (480)729-1683 for a free telephonic consultation. I defend clients charged with serious criminal offenses in all Arizona City, state, and federal Courts.
About the Author
Aaron Black is the founder and sole attorney of the Law Office of Aaron Black. Located in Phoenix, Arizona, his DUI and criminal defense law firm provides legal services to people who have received felony or misdemeanor charges from the state.Aaron has developed a strong interest in defending people who have been arrested and received criminal charges for driving under the influence. With his professionalism and knowledge of Arizona DUI and criminal law, he has acted as a check and balance on the police, prosecution and courts and has protected a great number of his clients from excessive and unfair sentencing.
Along with DUI defense, Aaron handles a range of other criminal matters, including aggravated assault, burglary, domestic violence, drug possession, drug trafficking, fraud defense, insurance fraud, sex crimes and white-collar crime.
After graduating college in 2003 from the University of Arizona, Aaron decided to pursue a law degree. He followed a family long tradition and went to the University of South Dakota School of Law where he pursued his goal of becoming a criminal defense lawyer.
After passing the Arizona and South Dakota bar exams, Aaron joined the Maricopa County Office of the Public Defender where he defended hundreds of people charged with serious criminal offenses. His work as a public defender helped him sharpen his litigation skills and gave him a unique insight into the Arizona criminal justice system.
Over the course of his 15-year legal career, Aaron has spent a considerable amount of time in both Arizona justice, municipal, state and federal courts. He has argued over 50 jury trials, tried over 100 bench trials and has become one of the highest-rated criminal and DUI defense attorneys in Phoenix and the surrounding areas. He has received a 10/10 rating from the legal directory Avvo because of his legal background and successful case record. Since 2014, he has received the Super Lawyer rating for his work as a Phoenix DUI and criminal defense attorney.
You can review Aaron’s Attorney Bio page for more information about his background, education and experience as a Phoenix DUI and criminal defense attorney.