Phoenix DUI Lawyer

With the ever changing and complex legal issues involving DUI offenses in Arizona, it is necessary you have an experienced Lawyer by your side that knows the intricacies of DUI laws. Phoenix DUI Lawyer Aaron Black has aggressively litigated approximately one thousand DUI cases. Aaron has the experience, knowledge, and skills necessary to fight for you! Each DUI case is unique. It is important you hire an experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer who understands the complex issues of your DUI charge or DUI related charge.

How can you be charged with DUI in Phoenix Arizona?

  • If the government can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you were driving a vehicle or in actual physical control of a vehicle and impaired to the slightest degree you can be charged.
     
  • If the government can prove your Blood Alcohol Concentration was a .08% or more within two hours of driving you can be charged.

Though the evidence may seem overwhelmingly against you, there are many excellent defenses to a DUI charge. It is important you contact an experienced Attorney to review your case if you have been charged with DUI in Phoenix or the surrounding areas.

An experienced Attorney possesses the skills, resources, and experts required to fight your case and defend you against government accusations.

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence contact or call Aaron Black for a free consultation at 480-729-1683.

A simple car accident can result in serious criminal charges against you if alcohol, drugs, or speeding was involved. Even more serious charges can be levied against you if a person was injured or killed. Such offenses carry mandatory prison terms and it is important you have a Lawyer familiar with vehicular crimes defend you. Phoenix DUI Lawyer Aaron Back aggressively defends vehicular cases. Many of Aaron’s cases result in dismissals, not guilty verdicts, no jail time, or substantially reduced charges.

What are the penalties for DUI in Phoenix, Arizona?

The penalties for DUI in Phoenix are some of the harshest in the country. A conviction carries mandatory jail, mandatory fines, license suspension, and the ignition interlock device. Depending on the blood alcohol concentration and history, jail can range from 1 day to 6 months for misdemeanors and up to 15 years for a felony.

Driving Under the Influence Penalties

1st Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence (under .15 BAC)
2nd Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence Above a .08 BAC (but less than .15)
1st Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)
2nd Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)
1st Time Super Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .20 BAC
2nd Time Super Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .20 BAC
Aggravated Driving Under the Influence “Kid in Car” (Younger than 15) Class 6 Felony
Aggravated DUI Due to License Suspension or Third DUI in 84 Months Class 4 Felony

 

1st Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence (under .15 BAC)

  • Minimum jail 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines:

$250 Fine
$210 Surcharge
$500 Prison Fund
$500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 90 day License Suspension
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock (6 months beginning January 1, 2012)

Back to List

2nd Time Misdemeanor Driving Under the Influence Above a .08 BAC (but less than .15)

  • New DUI charge must be within 84 months of date of 1st DUI conviction.
  • Minimum jail - 90 days jail, but 60 may be suspended if successfully complete alcohol classes.
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines:

$500 Fine
$420 Surcharge
$1250 Prison Fund
$1250 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 1 year license revocation (no driving at all)
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • 30+ hours community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock

Back to List

1st Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)

  • Minimum Jail - 30 days jail
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines:

$250 Fine
$210 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund
$1000 Prison Fund
$1000 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 90 day License Suspension
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock

Back to List

2nd Time Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .15 BAC (but less than .20)

  • New DUI charge must be within 84 months of date of 1st DUI conviction.
  • Minimum Jail - 120 days jail, at least 60 days of which must be served consecutively, but must serve entire sentence.
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines

$500 Fine
$420 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund
$1250 Prison Fund
$1250 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$10 Probation Fee

  • 1 year license revocation (no driving at all)
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • 30+ hours community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 1 year Ignition interlock

Back to List

1st Time Super Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .20 BAC

  • Minimum Jail - 45 days jail
  • Maximum Jail – 6 months
  • Fines:

$500 Fine
$420 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund
$1000 Prison Fund
$1000 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 90 day License Suspension
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 18 months Ignition interlock

Back to List

2nd Time Super Extreme Driving Under the Influence Above a .20 BAC

  • New DUI charge must be within 84 months of date of 1st DUI conviction.
  • Minimum Jail - 180 days
  • Maximum Jail – 180 days
  • Fines:

$1000 Fine
$840 Surcharge
$250 Driving Under the Influence Fund
$1250 Prison Fund
$1250 State General Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 1 year license revocation (no driving at all)
  • Possible Probation up to 5 years
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • 30+ hours community service
  • Pay for jail incarceration
  • Possible monthly probation fees
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 2 year Ignition interlock

Back to List

Aggravated Driving Under the Influence “Kid in Car” (Younger than 15) Class 6 Felony

  • Minimum Jail - 10 days jail, but 9 may be suspended
  • Maximum Jail - 2 years in prison **Higher if prior felony convictions**
  • Fines:

$250 Fee
$750 Fine
$630 Surcharge
$1500 Prison Fund
$1500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 3 year license revocation
  • Probation up to 10 years if jail sentence
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Up to 10 years probation
  • Monthly probation fees – usually $65/month
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 2 years Ignition Interlock
  • DNA taken
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • Possible Driving Under the Influence Court program
  • Felony on your record

Back to List

Aggravated DUI Due to License Suspension or Third DUI in 84 Months Class 4 Felony

  • Minimum Jail - 4 months in prison
  • Maximum Jail - 3.75 years in prison **Higher if prior felony convictions**
  • Fines:

$250 Fee
$750 Fine
$630 Surcharge
$1500 Prison Fund
$1500 Public Safety Equip. Fund
$20 Time Pay Fee
$20 Probation Fee

  • 3 year license revocation
  • Probation up to 10 years if jail sentence
  • Alcohol / Drug Screening & Classes
  • Possible community service
  • Up to 10 years probation
  • Monthly probation fees – usually $65/month
  • Possible SR22 insurance
  • 2 years Ignition Interlock
  • DNA taken
  • Victim Impact Panel
  • Possible Driving Under the Influence Court program
  • Felony on your record

Back to List

If you have been arrested for DUI or a DUI related offense it is important you contact a experienced Phoenix DUI Lawyer Aaron Black for a free consultation. Contact Aaron Black or call 480-729-1683.
 

 

State Bar of Arizona

State Bar of South Dakota
American Bar Association Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice
(480)729-1683

Client Reviews

  • "Outstanding Criminal Trial Lawyer"
    Five Stars
    - Stacey
  • "Saved my life"
    Five Stars
    - Matt
  • "I highley recommend Aaron Black as an attorney!"
    Five Stars
    - Renee
  • "Aaron has been there every step of the way for a very challenging case...He believes in you, so it's easy to believe in him."
    Five Stars
    - Steve
  • "Attorney Aaron Black was a gift!! He did the research, presented the evidence and I did NOT go to prison or jail. I am eternally grateful."
    Five Stars
    - Dr. Soki
  • "Awesome! Aaron is a very reasonable, knowledgeable, and well spoken lawyer. He definitely made a difference in my DUI case. I am very glad he represented me. Especially the way he presented it to the judge. I'd recommend him!"
    Five Stars
    - Becky
  • "Aaron Black is a wonderful attorney. His knowledge and skills are impeccable and he is very friendly and approachable person. We need more lawyers out there like Aaron."
    Five Stars
    - Paul
  • "Mr. Black is an upper-tier criminal defense lawyer, and I strongly recommend him."
    Five Stars
    - Matt L.
  • "Attorney Black is an outstanding attorney with an exceptional reputation. He is a strong and zealous advocate and a credit to the legal profession."
    Five Stars
    - Howard
  • "Aaron was able to identify detailed mistakes made by the prosecution before ever going to trial. Worked quickly and assertively. Made me feel he actually cared."
    Five Stars
    - Matt R.
  • "Aaron was my attorney for a very serious DUI felony charge. I went through a couple attorneys who advised me to get my affairs in order there was no hope. With Aaron he recommended we take the case to trial! The outcome was unbelievable! I was not guilty on the felony!"
    Five Stars
    - Renee
DUI or Criminal Related Question?
Send me an email.

* Name
* Email Address
Phone
* Brief description of your legal issue
I will promptly respond unless I am in court.


AV Peer Review Rated
Arizona Lawyers